Skip to content

From Refugees to Internees / “Collar the Lot” Video

Former internees discuss British internment.

Former internees discuss British internment.

Video: 5:04 17.7 MB Download

Adobe Flash Player and Javascript are required to view videos. The transcript is below.

Transcript

“Collar the Lot”

In May 1940, fearing a German invasion, Britain began rounding up “enemy aliens,” including Jewish refugees from Nazism.

Edgar Lion
Close-up photo of Edgar Lion being interviewed
I was just about to set off and this black limousine comes up with the secret service men, the police and: “Is a Mr. Lion there?”;“Yes, that’s me.” “Mr. Lion we have to ask you to come with us to the police station. We want to ask you a few questions.”

Hon. Fred Kaufman
Close-up photo of Hon. Fred Kaufman being interviewed
They came to the door, were very apologetic, and said that I would have to come with him. He said: “Pack a little bag because it might be a few days.” And then he did a rather extraordinary thing, and that’s why I avoid the word arrest. He said “I have to go and collect a couple other people in the district so it will give you a half and hour or so to pack a little bag and be ready and then I’ll come back and get you.

Dr Gideon Rosenbluth
Close-up photo of Dr Gideon Rosenbluth being interviewed
I said okay, I’ll go up and pack a suitcase. And he said “Oh no, that won’t be necessary. I’ve just got to take you to the police station for a check-up.” I didn’t believe them. So I went up and packed a suitcase.

Jack Hahn
Close-up photo of Jack Hahn being interviewed
They said, “We have to check your papers, and so on, and you’ll be back tonight.”

Gunter Bardeleben
Close-up photo of Gunter Bardeleben being interviewed
We were told, “It won’t be long, don’t take too much with you,” or something. But at that age, you maybe had other worries.

Dr Gregory Baum
Close-up photo of Dr Gregory Baum being interviewed
I was working in the barn, shoveling manure. The farmer called me and said there were two men wanting to see me, so I leaned the shovel against the wall, stepped out. These two men were policemen in civilian clothes and they said: “We’re sorry, we have to take you to the station. It may not be because you are German. It may not be long, maybe just a couple of days, take a toothbrush along.” And I went with them and I laughed in the car because it was a great adventure. I mean, to leave the barn and shovel manure and now I was driving through the Welsh countryside.

Edgar Lion
Close-up photo of Edgar Lion being interviewed
So I went with them and they drove through the city at 80 miles an hour, you know and the siren blazing. It was quite a ride to go. And we came to the police station and there were about twenty of us, others who seemed like myself, refugees from the Nazis who were caught by the police dragnet in Edinburgh.

Dr Ernest Poser
Close-up photo of Dr Ernest Poser being interviewed
There was a lot of apprehension among these hundreds of people who’d suddenly being taken out of their homes and didn’t know what was going to happen to them. And we could not communicate with our relatives, couldn’t communicate with anyone. And this upset almost everybody, but some, particularly those who had been through a concentration camp experience before, it struck them very hard.

Dr Peter Ziegler
Close-up photo of Dr Peter Ziegler being interviewed
The authorities in England were not prepared for this, and didn’t really know what to do with us or where to put us.

Dr Ernest Poser
Close-up photo of Dr Ernest Poser being interviewed
We were sent to a place of concentration, not to be confused with a concentration camp, which was a racecourse near London, Kempton Park.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Close-up photo of Dr Walter Igersheimer being interviewed
Hundred and hundreds and thousands of people milling around, not knowing what to do, where to go, where to sleep. Everybody was crunched together on various parts of the racecourse.

Dr Gregory Baum
Close-up photo of Dr Gregory Baum being interviewed
And we were then shipped to a camp near Liverpool; from there we were shipped to the Isle of Man.

Rabbi Erwin Schild
Close-up photo of Rabbi Erwin Schild being interviewed
On the Isle of Man we did have comfortable accommodations because some of the seaside hotels had been converted into interment camps.

Edgar Lion
Close-up photo of Edgar Lion being interviewed
We were on the Isle of Man for probably a number of weeks, until one day they took us to Glasgow. There were two ships and we were told to take one or the other. If you took the first ship, you ended up in Australia, and you were sent back eventually because the Australians did not permit anybody to immigrate. If you took the second ship, which I took, you ended up in Canada. But when we left we did not know where we were going.

Passer au contenu

De réfugié à interné / « Qu’on les attrape tous » Vidéo

Discussion des anciens internés sur l’internement en Grande-Bretagne.

Discussion des anciens internés sur l’internement en Grande-Bretagne.

Vidéo: 5:04 17.7 Mo Télécharger

Adobe Flash Player et Javascript sont requis pour visionner les vidéos. La transcription est ci-dessous.

Transcription

« Qu’on les attrape tous. »

En mai 1940, craignant une invasion allemande, l’Angleterre commença à rassembler les « ennemis étrangers, » y compris les réfugiés juifs du nazisme.

Edgar Lion
Une photo en gros-plan de Edgar Lion prise durant un interview
J’allais tout juste partir quand une limousine noire s’est avancée avec des agents secrets, la police dit : « Y a-t-il un monsieur Lion ici ? » « Oui, c’est moi, » « Monsieur Lion, nous vous demandons de venir avec nous au commissariat de police. Nous voulons vous poser quelques questions. »

Hon. Fred Kaufman
Une photo en gros-plan de Hon. Fred Kaufman prise durant un interview
Ils sont venus à la porte, et s’excusaient, et me dirent que je devais le suivre. Il dit « Prends un petit bagage parce que cela pourrait durer quelques jours. »Et c’est à ce moment qu’il fit une chose extraordinaire, la raison pour laquelle j’évite le mot arrestation. Il dit « Je dois m’en aller pour rechercher une couple d’autres personnes dans le quartier alors cela te donne une demi-heure environ pour faire ton bagage et te préparer et après, je reviendrai te chercher. »

Dr Gideon Rosenbluth
!/images/18a2af60937221df7274dfc194e78a8e.jpg(Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Gideon Rosenbluth prise durant un interview)
J’ai dit d’accord, je vas monter et faire ma valise. Et il a dit « Oh non, cela ne sera pas nécessaire. Je dois seulement t’amener au commissariat pour une vérification. » Je ne les ai pas crus et ai fait ma valise.

Jack Hahn
Une photo en gros-plan de Jack Hahn prise durant un interview
Ils ont dit: « Nous devons vérifier vos papiers, et ainsi de suite, et vous serez de retour ce soir. »

Gunter Bardeleben
Une photo en gros-plan de Gunter Bardeleben prise durant un interview
On nous a dit « Cela ne sera pas long, n’apportez pas trop de choses avec vous » ou quelque chose dans ce genre. Mais à cet âge, nous avions peut- être d’autres raisons d’être inquiets.

Dr Gregory Baum
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Gregory Baum prise durant un interview
J’étais dans la grange en train de pelleter du fumier. Le fermier m’a appelé et m’a dit que deux hommes voulaient me voir, j’ai donc appuyé la pelle contre le mur et suis sorti. Ces deux hommes étaient des policiers en civils et ils ont dit: « On s’excuse mais on doit t’amener au commissariat. Ce n’est peut-être pas parce que tu es Allemand. Ce ne sera pas long, peut-être une couple de jours, apporte ta brosse à dents. » Je suis allé avec eux et je riais dans l’auto car c’était comme une grande aventure. Je veux dire, de quitter la grange où je pelletais du fumier pour me retrouver dans une auto roulant dans la campagne du Welsh.

Edgar Lion
Une photo en gros-plan de Edgar Lion prise durant un interview
Alors je suis allé avec eux et ils conduisaient à-travers la ville à 80 milles à l’heure, vous savez, avec la sirène qui hurlait. C’était toute une balade. Nous sommes arrivés au commissariat et nous étions alors une vingtaine, d’autres qui semblaient comme moi, être des réfugiés des Nazis et qui avaient été attrapés par ce coup de filet de la police.

Dr Ernest Poser
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Ernest Poser prise durant un interview
Il y avait beaucoup d’appréhension parmi ces centaines de personnes qui soudainement, avaient été enlevés de leurs foyers et qui ne savaient pas ce qu’il allait leur arriver. Et nous ne pouvions pas communiquer avec nos proches, nous ne pouvions pas communiquer avec personne. Et presque tout le monde en était perturbé, mais plus particulièrement certains d’entre nous, ceux qui avaient vécu auparavant l’expérience des camps de concentration, cela les frappa durement.

Dr Peter Ziegler
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Peter Ziegler prise durant un interview
Les autorités en Angleterre n’étaient pas préparés pour cela, et ne savaient vraiment pas quoi faire de nous, ou bien où nous placer.

Dr Ernest Poser
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Ernest Poser prise durant un interview
Nous avons été envoyés dans un endroit de concentration, à ne pas confondre avec un camp de concentration, qui était un champ de course près de Londres, Kempton Park.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Walter Igersheimer prise durant un interview
Des centaines et des centaines, des milliers de personnes tournant dans l’enceinte, ne sachant quoi faire, ni où aller, ni où dormir. Tout le monde était entassé dans différentes parties de ce champ de course.

Dr Gregory Baum
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Gregory Baum prise durant un interview
Et nous avons été envoyés dans un camp près de Liverpool; de là on nous a envoyés sur l’Île de Man.

Rabbi Erwin Schild
Une photo en gros-plan de Rabbi Erwin Schild prise durant un interview
Sur l’Île de Man, nous étions hébergés très confortablement parce que certains des hôtels du bord de mer avaient été convertis en camps d’internement.

Edgar Lion
Une photo en gros-plan de Edgar Lion prise durant un interview
Nous étions depuis un certain temps, probablement quelques semaines, sur l’Île de Man, jusqu’à ce qu’un jour, ils nous amènent à Glasgow. Il y avait là deux paquebots et on nous a dit d’en prendre un, ou l’autre. Si vous preniez le premier, on vous envoyait en Australie pour n’être que ramenés plus tard parce que les Australiens n’accordaient aucun permis d’immigration. Si vous preniez le deuxième bateau, vous alliez au Canada. Mais, au départ, nous ne savions pas où nous allions.