Skip to content

Do you have a story about the internment of refugees from Nazism in Canada?

Share a story or
Read others’ stories.

Fragile Roots

Walter Igersheimer was among the first German Jewish students to arrive in England in 1933. By 1940, he had “begun to feel so at home [he] could not imagine wanting to live or practice medicine in any other country.”

Refugees lived in agricultural training centres, boarding schools, private homes and hostels across Great Britain. After Kristallnacht, Britain granted entry to 5,000 male refugees between the ages of 18 and 45 who had been released from concentration camps under the provision that they would emigrate from Germany. They were housed in Kitchener Camp, a deserted First World War army camp.

Refugees were aided by relatives and well-meaning individuals, as well as Jewish, Christian and non-denominational agencies. Many of the young refugees came from affluent families and were unaccustomed to the living conditions in British working class homes. Feeling unwelcome, some tried to assimilate quickly by hiding their Jewish roots and perfecting their English.

The refugees banded together to maintain a semblance of home and many tried to further their education and careers while awaiting an uncertain future. While creating self-help organizations to support each other financially as well as emotionally, the young men desperately tried to find escape routes for their family and friends still in Europe.

A dossier of images about refugees in Britain. Dossier

A collection of images relating to refugees in Britain.

From Refugees to Internees
in the classroom


From Refugees to Internees
Students learn about Britain’s classification of refugees from Nazism as “enemy aliens” by engaging with documentary sources, and with internee video testimony about their arrest and internment in England.


Fragile Roots
“Enemy Aliens”


“Do’s and Don’ts for Refugees”
“Refugee from Nazi Oppression Certificate” (160Kb PDF)
“Application for Consideration by Joint Recruiting Board” (225Kb PDF)


“Collar the Lot”

Complete Teachers’ Guide to Enemy Aliens
PDF 7.8 MB

Adobe Reader can be used to view PDF files.

Passer au contenu

Connaissez-vous une histoire reliée à l’internement au Canada des réfugiés du nazisme ?

Partagez votre histoire ou
découvrez celles des autres.

Un renouveau fragile

C’est en 1933 que Walter Igersheimer, l’un des premiers étudiants allemands juifs en médecine, arriva en Angleterre. Déjà en 1940, il s’y sentait tellement intégré, « qu’il ne pouvait s’imaginer vivre, ou pratiquer sa profession ailleurs, dans un autre pays. »

Partout en Grande-Bretagne, les réfugiés avaient trouvé accueil dans des centres de formation agricole, des pensionnats, des domiciles et des auberges.
Après la Kristallnacht, la Grande-Bretagne avait émis des visas d’entrée à 5 000 réfugiés, des hommes âgés entre 18 et 45 ans qui avaient été libérés des camps de concentration avec la stipulation qu’ils allaient émigrer en Allemagne. Ils trouvèrent refuge à Kitchener Camp, ancien camp militaire inoccupé datant de la Première guerre mondiale.

Les réfugiés purent compter sur l’aide de leurs parents, de bons samaritains ou encore des agences juives, chrétiennes et non confessionnelles. Comme plusieurs de ces réfugiés venaient de familles aisées, ils n’étaient pas habitués aux conditions de vie quotidienne des ouvriers britanniques. Ne se sentant pas les bienvenus, certains d’entre eux cherchèrent à s’assimiler le plus vite possible, en cachant leurs origines juives et en perfectionnant leur anglais.

Afin de créer un semblant de communauté, les réfugiés se regroupaient ensemble et plusieurs tentaient de faire progresser leur éducation et leur vie professionnelle, en dépit d’un avenir incertain. Bien qu’ils aient formé des associations d’entraide financière et psychologique, ces jeunes hommes cherchaient désespérément, pour leurs familles et amis en Europe, des moyens pour qu’ils s’échappent.

Un fichier d’images sur les réfugiés en Grande-Bretagne. Dossier

Une collection d’images sur les réfugiés en Grande-Bretagne.

De réfugié à interné
dans la salle de classe

Leçon

De réfugié à interné
Les étudiants pourront mieux cerner le contexte dans lequel les ressortissants allemands vivant en Angleterre, incluant les réfugiés juifs du nazisme, ont été classifiés « ennemis étrangers » et pourront mieux comprendre l’internement d’après les témoignages des anciens internés.

Lecture

Un renouveau fragile
Les « ennemis étrangers »

Documents

« À FAIRE » et les « À NE PAS FAIRE «
Certificat de réfugié de l’oppression nazie (160 Ko PDF)
« L’application pour devenir un officier de l’infanterie britannique » (225 Ko PDF)

Vidéo

« Qu’on les attrape tous »

Guide de l’enseignant
PDF 7.9 Mo

Adobe Reader peut être utilisé pour lire les fichiers PDF.