Skip to content

Do you have a story about the internment of refugees from Nazism in Canada?

Share a story or
Read others’ stories.

Refugee Agencies

While the refugees confronted the Canadian government with petitions, letters and strikes, voluntary organizations worked outside the barbed wire to improve their conditions, and to gain their release. The leader of Canadian Jewry’s efforts was a young Montreal lawyer, Saul Hayes, who served as director of the United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies (UJRA) of the Canadian Jewish Congress (CJC).

During the first years of the Second World War, Canadian Jews focused on aiding and rescuing European Jewry. The plight of the Jewish internees, officially labelled as dangerous spies, presented them with a public relations dilemma. Until the refugees were cleared of suspicion, the UJRA tread lightly. They provided communication, kosher food, religious items and other material to improve everyday life for the internees.

Securing release into Canada for the interned refugees was an enormous challenge. The UJRA knew that during the Holocaust era the term “refugee” was synonymous with “Jew.” In Canada, where antisemitism permeated the political and social landscape, Jews were regarded as unassimilable immigrants. At first, the UJRA focused its efforts on gaining entry for the internees into the United States. When that scheme failed, Hayes worked with Alexander Paterson, quietly lobbying to secure release into Canada.

A dossier of images about the United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies. Dossier

A collection that relates to the United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies.

in the classroom


Students learn about the advocacy efforts of individuals and groups – both Jewish and non-Jewish – on behalf of the internees.


Paterson Mission
United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies
Refugee Committees
Other Advocates

Complete Teachers’ Guide to Enemy Aliens
PDF 7.8 MB

Adobe Reader can be used to view PDF files.

Passer au contenu

Connaissez-vous une histoire reliée à l’internement au Canada des réfugiés du nazisme ?

Partagez votre histoire ou
découvrez celles des autres.

Agences pour les réfugiés

Alors que le gouvernement canadien se voyait confronté par les diverses pétitions, grèves et lettres des réfugiés, les organisations bénévoles quant à elles, se dévouaient à l’extérieur des barbelés pour améliorer la situation des internés et gagner leur libération, comptant sur le soutien de Saul Hayes, jeune avocat montréalais, leader de la communauté juive et directeur du United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies (URJA) du Congrès juif canadien (CJC).

Pendant les premières années de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les Juifs canadiens essayaient avant tout d’aider et de sauver les Juifs européens. Cependant, la situation des internés juifs, officiellement reconnus comme étant des espions dangereux, causait un dilemme de relations publiques. Le UJRA devait agir avec précaution jusqu’à ce que les soupçons soient levés, tout en fournissant aux internés des moyens de communication, de la nourriture kasher, des articles religieux et autres nécessités, dans le but d’améliorer leur quotidien.

Obtenir la libération des réfugiés internés au Canada représentait un défi de premier ordre. Le UJRA savait fort bien que durant l’ère de l’Holocauste, le terme « réfugié » était synonyme de « juif. » Au Canada, où l’antisémitisme venait ternir les paysages politiques et sociaux, les Juifs étaient vus comme étant des immigrants inassimilables. Au début, le UJRA misait sur ses efforts pour faire admettre les internés aux États-Unis. Devant l’échec de ce plan, Saul Hayes se joignit alors à Alexander Paterson; ensemble, ils firent paisiblement du lobbying pour obtenir la libération des internés au Canada.

Un fichier d’images sur les agences juives: United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies. Dossier

Une collection d’images sur les agences juives: United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies.

La Défense
dans la salle de classe

Leçon

La Défense
Les étudiants découvriront les efforts de différents individus et groupes venus à la défense des internés – Juifs et non Juifs.

Lecture

Paterson à la direction
Les agences juives, United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies
Les Comités de réfugiés
Autres défenseurs

Guide de l’enseignant
PDF 7.9 Mo

Adobe Reader peut être utilisé pour lire les fichiers PDF.