Skip to content

Do you have a story about the internment of refugees from Nazism in Canada?

Share a story or
Read others’ stories.

The Paterson Mission

Within weeks of the internees’ arrival, Britain asked Canada to provide a “system of less rigid custodial treatment” for the refugees. When Canada requested assistance to distinguish between “Category A,” “B” and “C” internees, the British sent Alexander Paterson, His Majesty’s Commissioner of Prisons and a renowned social reformer.

Chaim Raphael, who joined Paterson on his mission after working with refugees in England, explained that the British did not expect Canadians to resist Paterson’s authority: “[We] assumed that once Paterson came, he was a very famous man, there would be no problem. We’ll send him out for a week or so just to appease the Canadians on the diplomatic level. No one dreamed that the Canadians would refuse.”

Paterson stayed in Canada for over eight months in order to clear the refugees individually. Hundreds seized the opportunity he offered to return to Britain by joining the Pioneer Corps, an unarmed unit of the British army largely assigned to public works. By 1943, fewer than one thousand of the refugees remained in Canada.

Infuriated by what he witnessed, Paterson unleashed a volley of criticism at the Canadian government. He recommended the creation of “Refugee Camps” removed from military control. On May 2, 1941, Cabinet approved Paterson’s proposal.

Paterson also worked with refugee advocates pursuing a program of release in Canada. If interned refugees were reluctantly released in Canada, it was largely through the spadework of Alexander Paterson.

Sir Alexander Paterson Dossier

Portrait of Alexander Paterson, © National Portrait Gallery, London

in the classroom


Students learn about the advocacy efforts of individuals and groups – both Jewish and non-Jewish – on behalf of the internees.


Paterson Mission
United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies
Refugee Committees
Other Advocates

Complete Teachers’ Guide to Enemy Aliens
PDF 7.8 MB

Adobe Reader can be used to view PDF files.

Passer au contenu

Connaissez-vous une histoire reliée à l’internement au Canada des réfugiés du nazisme ?

Partagez votre histoire ou
découvrez celles des autres.

Paterson à la direction

Moins de quelques semaines après l’arrivée des internés, la Grande-Bretagne demandait au Canada que le système de détention soit appliqué « d’une manière moins rigide. » Suite à la requête du Canada d’envoyer une personne-ressource afin de voir à la distinction entre les internés des « catégories A, » « B » et « C, » ce fut Alexander Paterson, His Majesty’s Commissioner of Prisons, (commissaire des prisons de Sa Majesté) et réformateur social reconnu qui vint remplir cette tâche.

Pour ce faire, Chaim Raphael, qui auparavant, avait travaillé avec des réfugiés en Angleterre, se joignit à Paterson. Les Britanniques ne s’attendaient pas à ce que les Canadiens s’opposent à l’autorité de ce dernier: « (Nous) pensions qu’une fois arrivé sur place, Paterson ne rencontrerait aucun problème, vu sa notoriété. Nous ne l’envoyions qu’une semaine tout au plus pour, diplomatiquement, apaiser les Canadiens. Personne ne se doutait du refus des Canadiens à lui obéir. »

Paterson cependant, demeura au Canada pendant plus de huit mois, préparant le terrain pour chacun des réfugiés. Sautant ainsi sur l’occasion de retourner en Angleterre, des centaines d’entre eux s’affilièrent au Pioneer Corps, un groupe militaire britannique non armé, à qui l’on confiait des travaux publics. Il ne resta au Canada et ce jusqu’en 1943, que moins de mille réfugiés.

De plus, Paterson travailla étroitement avec les défenseurs des réfugiés, créant un programme de libération au Canada; c’est grâce à son travail de premier plan, que des réfugiés internés purent, à contre-cœur cependant, être enfin libérés.

Sir Alexander Paterson Dossier

Photographie de Alexander Paterson, © National Portrait Gallery, London

La Défense
dans la salle de classe

Leçon

La Défense
Les étudiants découvriront les efforts de différents individus et groupes venus à la défense des internés – Juifs et non Juifs.

Lecture

Paterson à la direction
Les agences juives, United Jewish Refugee and War Relief Agencies
Les Comités de réfugiés
Autres défenseurs

Guide de l’enseignant
PDF 7.9 Mo

Adobe Reader peut être utilisé pour lire les fichiers PDF.