Skip to content

Do you have a story about the internment of refugees from Nazism in Canada?

Share a story or
Read others’ stories.

The Arandora Star

The S.S. Arandora Star was a luxury cruise ship converted for troops. It was destined for Canada when, on July 2, 1940, it was torpedoed by a German submarine. Of the 805 drowned, 452 were Italian civilians and 151 were “Category A” and “B” internees, including Jewish refugees. The victims included many prominent anti-fascists who had escaped from Germany, Austria and Italy.

Horrifying stories of ineptitude on the part of the British crew and panic among the internees shocked the public. One survivor recalled: “The stern of the ship was high in the air, the men were fighting over lifeboats, of which not all could be put afloat. I found a beam, sprang after it into the sea and held fast. … Many lifeboats were lost. Bodies were washed away by the waves. Old people drowned almost without exception.”

The backlash against the British government was formidable. As the threat of invasion receded and Churchill admitted that the internment of refugees had been a mistake, Category C Jewish refugees in Britain began to be released. By March 1941, 12,500 internees were again free and in August only 1,300 refugees remained in British camps. By July 1942 only three or four hundred refugees were still interned in Britain.

The story of the British internments and deportations came to a close just as the tale of Canada and the interned refugees began.

A dossier of images about the S.S. Arandora Star Dossier

A collection of images relating to the S.S. Arandora Star.

Accidental Immigrants
in the classroom


Accidental Immigrants
Students learn about how the “enemy aliens” journeyed to Canada and, through internee testimony, about how they were received upon their arrival in Canada.


A Perilous Voyage


Internee Testimony: An Enemy’s Welcome

Complete Teachers’ Guide to Enemy Aliens
PDF 7.8 MB

Adobe Reader can be used to view PDF files.

Passer au contenu

Connaissez-vous une histoire reliée à l’internement au Canada des réfugiés du nazisme ?

Partagez votre histoire ou
découvrez celles des autres.

Le Arandora Star

C’est le 2 juillet 1940, qu’un sous-marin allemand torpilla le paquebot S.S. Arandora Star, converti pour les troupes et en route pour le Canada. Se noyèrent, 805 personnes dont 452 civils italiens, 151 internés des catégories A et B et des réfugiés juifs. Parmi les victimes se trouvaient plusieurs éminents chefs allemands et italiens antifascistes.

Des histoires d’incompétence de la part de l’équipage britannique et de panique générale stupéfièrent la population. Un survivant raconta que « la poupe du navire était surélevée et les hommes se battaient entre eux pour les chaloupes de sauvetage dont certaines ne purent être mises à l’eau. J’aperçus une poutre dans la mer et m’y accrochai de toutes mes forces…beaucoup de canots de sauvetage se perdirent. Des vagues emportaient les corps. Presque toutes les personnes âgées périrent dans l’eau. »

Une forte réaction contre le gouvernement britannique s’ensuivit. Comme faiblissait la menace d’une invasion et tenant compte de l’aveu de Churchill à savoir qu’il avait commis une erreur en internant des réfugiés, la Grande-Bretagne consentit à libérer les réfugiés juifs de catégorie « C. »

L’histoire des internements britanniques prit fin au moment même où commençait celle des réfugiés internés au Canada.

Un fichier d’images sur le S.S. Arandora Star. Dossier

Une collection d’images sur le S.S. Arandora Star.

Les immigrants du hasard
dans la salle de classe

Leçon

Les immigrants du hasard
Les étudiants découvriront le parcours des « ennemis étrangers » jusqu’au Canada et, grâce aux témoignages d’anciens internés, leur arrivée au pays.

Lecture

Un périlleux voyage

Vidéo

Un accueil pour l’ennemi

Guide de l’enseignant
PDF 7.9 Mo

Adobe Reader peut être utilisé pour lire les fichiers PDF.