Skip to content

Accidental Immigrants / An Enemy’s Welcome Video

Former internees discuss their arrival in Canada.

Former internees discuss their arrival in Canada.

Video: 3:39 12.7 MB Download

Adobe Flash Player and Javascript are required to view videos. The transcript is below.


An Enemy’s Welcome

Upon their arrival in Canada, the civilian internees were met my military officials expected to receive dangerous prisoners of war.

Erich Koch
Close-up photo of Erich Koch being interviewed
We were received as though we were real Germans. Nazis. The Canadian Army had been misinformed. The British had not told them. The British had not told the Canadian Government who we were. And with good reason. Because if the British Government had said to the Canadians, “We are sending you, whatever it is, four thousand Jews,” the Canadians would have said, “That’s about the last thing we need.”

Dr Gregory Baum
Close-up photo of Dr Gregory Baum being interviewed
The army received us thinking that we were all combatants and they saw in our group there were rabbis and religious and, and priests and brothers in their gowns and some young, young boys in their shorts and people thought we were all disguised terrorists or at least combatants.

Jack Hahn
Close-up photo of Jack Hahn being interviewed
I wish I’d had a camera. These people with the long beards and the kippahs and so on, came off the boat and the machine guns were pointed at them and the fixed bayonets like this, you know. It was quite a sight.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Close-up photo of Dr Walter Igersheimer being interviewed
The Sergeant Major, who apparently was to receive us, said: “Ah, there are the prisoners and the fifth columnists.” I thought I didn’t hear right. What? I was completely confused. I was a harmless Jewish refugee from Nazi oppression.

Hon. Fred Kaufman
Close-up photo of Hon. Fred Kaufman being interviewed
That was always the problem that they, there was always the insufficient preparation of the officials in charge of what kind of detainees, internees, they were getting. They were expecting prisoners of war, and out come a bunch of children.

Edgar Lion
Close-up photo of Edgar Lion being interviewed
We were marched through the town and the Canadians, in particular the population, thought we are prisoners of war, real prisoners of war. And they were cursing us and spitting at us and throwing stones at us, you know, I mean, they didn’t realize who we were.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Close-up photo of Dr Walter Igersheimer being interviewed
We were told to undress, put our clothes on one line, in one area, one heap and our other belongings in another heap.

Dr Gideon Rosenbluth
Close-up photo of Dr Gideon Rosenbluth being interviewed
Everybody was searched and all their money was taken away. And they were given quote unquote receipts.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Close-up photo of Dr Walter Igersheimer being interviewed
And all the valuable stuff went in the pockets of the soldiers. We complained about that to the future Commandant of Camp L. And they had a court procedure. It was indeed the French Canadian soldiers who had done this under the command of an officer who was demoted and released of his command. But we didn’t see any of our belonging again.

Passer au contenu

Les immigrants du hasard / Un accueil pour l’ennemi Vidéo

Discussion des anciens internés sur leur arrivée au Canada.

Discussion des anciens internés sur leur arrivée au Canada.

Vidéo: 3:39 12.7 Mo Télécharger

Adobe Flash Player et Javascript sont requis pour visionner les vidéos. La transcription est ci-dessous.

Transcription

Un accueil pour l’ennemi

À leur arrivée au Canada, les civils internés ont été rencontrés par des officiers militaires qui s’attendaient à accueillir de dangereux prisonniers de guerre.

Erich Koch
Une photo en gros-plan de Erich Koch prise durant un interview
Nous avons été reçus comme si nous étions de vrais nazis allemands. Les Forces armées canadiennes avaient été mal informées. Les Britanniques ne leur avaient rien dit. Les Britanniques n’avaient pas dit au gouvernement canadien qui nous étions. Et, pour une bonne raison. Parce que, si le gouvernement britannique avait dit aux Canadiens: « nous allons vous envoyer, peu importe le nombre, quatre mille Juifs, » les Canadiens auraient répondu: « c’est bien la dernière chose dont nous avons besoin. »

Dr Gregory Baum
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Gregory Baum prise durant un interview
L’armée nous accueillit en pensant que nous étions des combattants et ils ont vu que dans notre groupe, il y avait des rabbins, des juifs religieux , des prêtres et des frères portant leurs soutanes, et des jeunes, des jeunes garçons en shorts et les gens nous prenaient pour des terroristes ou encore pour des combattants bien déguisés.

Jack Hahn
Une photo en gros-plan de Jack Hahn prise durant un interview
J’aurais aimé avoir une caméra. Ces gens avec des longues barbes et portant leurs kippahs et autres, descendant du bateau et les mitraillettes pointées sur eux avec des baïonnettes fixées comme cela, vous savez. Tout un spectacle.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Walter Igersheimer prise durant un interview
Le sergent major, qui apparemment devait nous recevoir, dit: « Ah, ils sont des prisonniers et des membres de la cinquième colonne (agents étrangers). » J’ai cru ne pas avoir bien entendu. Quoi ? J’étais complètement confus. Je n’étais qu’un inoffensif réfugié juif de l’oppression nazie.

Hon. Fred Kaufman
Une photo en gros-plan de Hon. Fred Kaufman prise durant un interview
Il y avait toujours un problème car les officiers responsables n’étaient jamais préparés à savoir quel genre de détenus, d’internés allaient arriver. Ils s’attendaient à recevoir des prisonniers de guerre et voilà qu’arrivaient des enfants.

Edgar Lion
Une photo en gros-plan de Edgar Lion prise durant un interview
Ils nous a fallu traverser la ville et les Canadiens, en particulier la population, pensaient que nous étions des prisonniers de guerre, de vrais prisonniers de guerre. Et ils nous injuriaient, crachaient sur nous et nous lançaient des pierres, vous savez, je veux dire, ils ne savaient vraiment pas qui nous étions.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Walter Igersheimer prise durant un interview
On nous a dit de nous déshabiller, de bien aligner nos vêtements, ou pour certains de les jeter en un tas et tous nos effets personnels sont allés sur un autre tas.

Dr Gideon Rosenbluth
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Gideon Rosenbluth prise durant un interview
Ils ont fouillé tout le monde et on a pris notre argent. Et on nous a donné reçu sur reçu.

Dr Walter Igersheimer
Une photo en gros-plan de Dr Walter Igersheimer prise durant un interview
Et tout ce qui avait de la valeur s’est retrouvé dans les poches des soldats. Nous nous sommes plaints de cela au futur commandant du Camp L et il y eut une poursuite judiciaire. En fait, les soldats canadiens français étaient les coupables et avaient agi sous les ordres d’un officier qui fut rétrogradé et à qui on enleva son commandement. Et nous, nous avons perdu à jamais tous nos effets.