Skip to content

Do you have a story about the internment of refugees from Nazism in Canada?

Share a story or
Read others’ stories.

A Perilous Voyage

As the Battle of the Atlantic waged on, three ships carrying refugees set sail to Canada in June and July of 1940. While German U-boats posed grave risks from the sea, refugees onboard the S.S. Duchess of York endured harassment and threats from Nazis on board. Clive Teddern, a German Jew and only 16 years old at the time, remembered: “It wasn’t the submarines we were worried about. It was the danger from the people we were with.” The refugees feared being thrown overboard or that the ship would be commandeered by the Nazis and re-routed to Germany.

Conditions on the S.S. Ettrick were so crowded that the refugees, unprotected by the Geneva Convention that applied to Nazi prisoners of war, were consigned to the bowels of the ship. Surrounded by barbed wire, they nicknamed their quarters “Torpedo Class.”

The S.S. Sobieski offered safer passage. Escorted by destroyers, it was one of five vessels involved in the largest overseas transfer of wealth ever seen – 450 million pounds sterling in gold and securities. In contrast to the other ships, conditions on the Sobieski were tolerable, the refugees had the run of the ship, and food was sufficient.

A dossier of images about the Atlantic crossing. Dossier

A collection of images relating to the Atlantic crossing.

Accidental Immigrants
in the classroom


Accidental Immigrants
Students learn about how the “enemy aliens” journeyed to Canada and, through internee testimony, about how they were received upon their arrival in Canada.


A Perilous Voyage


Internee Testimony: An Enemy’s Welcome

Complete Teachers’ Guide to Enemy Aliens
PDF 7.8 MB

Adobe Reader can be used to view PDF files.

Passer au contenu

Connaissez-vous une histoire reliée à l’internement au Canada des réfugiés du nazisme ?

Partagez votre histoire ou
découvrez celles des autres.

Un périlleux voyage

Pendant que se déroulait la Bataille de l’Atlantique durant les mois de juin et juillet 1940, trois navires transportant 2 284 réfugiés à bord, partaient pour le Canada. Outre les graves dangers qui pouvaient survenir en mer des U-boats allemands, les réfugiés à bord du S.S. Duchess of York durent faire face au harcèlement et aux menaces des nazis. Clive Teddern, un juif allemand qui n’était âgé que de 16 ans, se souvint « Les sous-marins ne nous inquiétaient pas vraiment. Nous étions plutôt effrayés par les gens qui nous accompagnaient. » Les réfugiés avaient peur d’être jetés par-dessus bord, où bien ils craignaient que les nazis réquisitionnent le bateau pour le dérouter jusqu’en Allemagne.

Le S.S. Ettrick était tellement surpeuplé que les réfugiés, qui n’étaient pas protégés par la Convention de Genève, loi qui s’appliquait aux prisonniers nazis, furent obligés de rester dans les entrailles du bateau. Entourés de fils de fer barbelé, ils donnèrent à leurs quartiers le sobriquet de « Torpedo Class. »

Le S.S. Sobieski quant à lui, emprunta une route plus sûre. Accompagné par des escorteurs, ce fut l’un des cinq navires servant au transfert outremer d’une fortune colossale – 450 millions de livres sterling, en or et en titres. Au contraire de la situation qui prévalait sur les autres bateaux, le Sobieski jouissait de meilleures conditions: les réfugiés avaient plein accès au bateau et la nourriture était adéquate.

Un fichier d’images sur la traversée de l’Atlantique. Dossier

Une collection d’images sur la traversée de l’Atlantique.

Les immigrants du hasard
dans la salle de classe

Leçon

Les immigrants du hasard
Les étudiants découvriront le parcours des « ennemis étrangers » jusqu’au Canada et, grâce aux témoignages d’anciens internés, leur arrivée au pays.

Lecture

Un périlleux voyage

Vidéo

Un accueil pour l’ennemi

Guide de l’enseignant
PDF 7.9 Mo

Adobe Reader peut être utilisé pour lire les fichiers PDF.