Skip to content

Do you have a story about the internment of refugees from Nazism in Canada?

Share a story or
Read others’ stories.


Canada’s refugee advocates emerged from their battles with new and effective strategies. The failure of traditional tactics of quietly applying pressure on government agencies led to a public relations campaign that eventually secured the wholesale release of internees. Jewish community organizations would use the lessons of the war years to develop a new activist approach to Canadian political involvement.

The “camp boys” were the largest group of Jewish refugees to find haven in Canada during the first four years of the Second World War. As the war ended, evidence of the refugees’ contributions to Canadian industry, trade and culture were beyond dispute.

Criticism of Canada’s unbending immigration regulations was mounting. The war had created the greatest upheaval of humanity the world had ever witnessed. More than a million displaced people, of whom only a fraction were Jews, would soon press their case for resettlement. Canada was a prime target. To allow the legal admission of refugees already partially integrated in Canada might, some argued, forestall pressure to take more from Europe. Mass deportations of refugees would have caused an outcry.

And so, on October 25, 1945 Cabinet passed an Order in Council granting immigrant status, then citizenship, to the approximately 3,500 refugees resident in Canada, including former internees. For these refugees, five years in limbo were finally over.

Former internees discuss the legacy of internment. Video

Former internees discuss the legacy of internment.

A dossier of images about the legacy of internment. Dossier

A collection of images relating to the legacy of internment.

New Lives
in the classroom


New Lives
Students learn about the release of the internees from internment, their subsequent contributions to Canada and, through video, their perspectives on internment today.


Remarkable Achievements


Dossier: Release


Internee Testimony: Postscript

Complete Teachers’ Guide to Enemy Aliens
PDF 7.8 MB

Adobe Reader can be used to view PDF files.

Passer au contenu

Connaissez-vous une histoire reliée à l’internement au Canada des réfugiés du nazisme ?

Partagez votre histoire ou
découvrez celles des autres.

Héritage

Les confrontations auxquelles durent faire face les défenseurs des réfugiés au Canada les amenèrent à adopter des stratégies nouvelles et plus efficaces. L’échec des tactiques usuelles soit de faire pression sur les agences gouvernementales, les conduisit à une vaste campagne de relations publiques qui, éventuellement, vit à la libération systématique des internés. Les organismes communautaires juifs, forts des leçons retenues pendant les années de guerre, adoptèrent une approche proactive face à l’engagement politique canadien.

Pendant les quatre premières années de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les « gars de camps » constituaient le groupe le plus important de réfugiés juifs à trouver accueil au Canada. À la fin de la guerre, les contributions au pays de ces réfugiés dans les domaines de l’industrie, du commerce et de la culture furent évidentes et incontestables.

Les voix de ceux qui critiquaient la rigidité des politiques d’immigration au pays se firent de plus en plus entendre. La guerre avait infligé le plus grand bouleversement humanitaire jamais vu dans le monde. Plus d’un million de personnes furent déplacées, dont une faible fraction était des Juifs; ces derniers insistaient pour un programme de relocalisation, le Canada étant ciblé comme premier choix. Pour certains, accueillir légalement les réfugiés qui déjà étaient presque intégrés au Canada, aurait pu signifier un empressement à en faire venir d’autres d’Europe. Les déportations en masse des réfugiés auraient cependant causé scandale.

Ainsi, en ce jour du 25 octobre 1945, le cabinet adopta un décret du Conseil, accordant le statut d’immigrant, et un peu plus tard, la citoyenneté, aux presque 3 500 réfugiés demeurant au pays, y compris d’anciens internés. Ainsi se termina enfin pour ces derniers, l’incertitude de ces cinq longues années d’attente.

Discussion des anciens internés sur l’internement et son héritage. Vidéo

Discussion des anciens internés sur l’internement et son héritage.

Un fichier d’images sur l’internement et son héritage. Dossier

Une collection d’images sur l’internement et son héritage.

Une nouvelle vie
dans la salle de classe

Leçon

Une nouvelle vie
Les étudiants apprendront comment s’est déroulée la libération des internés, leurs contributions subséquentes à la société canadienne et, grâce aux vidéos, leurs réflexions d’aujourd’hui sur l’internement.

Lecture

La libération
De remarquables accomplissements

Documents

Dossier: La libération

Vidéo

Postface

Guide de l’enseignant
PDF 7.9 Mo

Adobe Reader peut être utilisé pour lire les fichiers PDF.